Dear Lingerie Designers; THIS is what we want (part one of many)

Every once in a while I rant about lingerie.

Ok, I often rant about lingerie, mainly about lack of availability of my size, especially to try on in the stores in the United States. I don’t often rant about price, because good lingerie is worth it, but I occasionally sigh over how I wish I had more money to purchase more bras. Any bra for me is an investment-level purchase.

But I won’t rant about those things today. Lucky you! I’m choosing to gripe about style and choice, or lack thereof.

This post was inspired by my happening across a website called MakeBra with bra patterns available. The lovely Finnish lady who runs it, Annele, posted a recent project of hers, which she calls the Art Deco Bra.

There aren’t really words, so I’ll just post the picture here.

Art Deco Style Bra by Annele of Makebra

File this under “Are You Kidding Me That This Is Not Available For Me To Buy In 14 Colorways Right This Moment?!”

Yeah, seriously stunning. And innovative. And fun! Where is the spark even in easily available bra sizes? I don’t often see a breathtaking 36C, so breathtaking in 36J (UK) is out of the question.

Wanna be really envious? No? Then don’t look at the matching panties.

Art Deco bra and panties by Annele of MakeBra

Art Deco bra and panties by Annele of MakeBra

I realize that this is not everyone’s cup of tea, but this is so fresh! It’s not the new floral same as the old floral approach that I see so often. Color mixes are frequently either boring or garish, but nothing intriguing. Even a plain old taupe bra can look elegant and amazing if detailed properly and made in a high quality fabric. I’ve seen exactly one taupe bra and panty set that I would wear under a $500 dress as my feel-amazing lingerie, but only if it had been in my size. Of course, it came nowhere close to available in my size, but my real beef here is that you can do so much with the color taupe, and no one ever does.

A color contrast doesn’t have to be obnoxious to be striking. What I wouldn’t give for a Marie Antoinette type French light blue silk bra with partial cream venetian lace overlay, butterfly edges loose and all. Or simple pearl grey with charcoal pinstripes and a very clean grey satin trim to match, rather like an amazing Armani suit complete with tie and pocket square, but over curves.

But, back to this bra, which makes such excellent use of contrast, and the placement of the black panels would be so uplifting and slimming when worn, thanks to the strong vertical lines. Why can’t we have things like this available in stores?

Annele’s notes about this bra are here on her What’s New page. Scrolling through her news items made me absolutely purple with lust. Thank goodness there weren’t pages and pages of entries.

Oh, and if you really don’t want to be annoyed at our bra manufacturers, don’t look at Annele’s inspiration gallery. It’ll break your heart what we could have.

As I said, these designs aren’t for everyone, but they are fresh, which is sorely lacking in the industry right now. Individuals and Etsy artisans are doing adorable things like this, and I continually am lured away from mainstream fare. I give it a matter of weeks before I make my own bra for the first time, and I’m not alone. A cottage industry is building, people are beginning to make their own clothes more and more, and customers are starting to demand more. The companies that do not provide more are going to start finding themselves falling behind.

